by Kevin Pollard

The milestone anniversary of the Gospel Music Association’s Dove Awards showcased the diverse genres within current Christian music, while giving props to the veterans who paved the way for these newcomers.

The awards were televised on TBN (Trinity Broadcasting Network) on October 20.

Highlights from the performances included Southern Gospel’s iconic Bill Gaither Vocal Band bringing back Russ Taff, Michael English, David Phelps and Mark Lowry to join the current line up to sing “Because He Lives” and CCM icons Michael W. Smith, Steven Curtis Chapman, Amy Grant and CeCe Winans joined together on stage for the first time to sing some of their beloved songs.

The big winners of the night were songwriter Jason Ingram with four Dove Awards and the belle of the ball, Lauren Daigle, who took home three awards. Daigle won awards for Song of the Year – “You Say”, Artist of the Year and Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year.

Gospels singer Kirk Franklin, Tasha Cobbs Leonard and Hip Hop Artist Lecrae took two.

First-time winners of the night included Aaron Cole, New Artist of the Year, and Phil Wickham, Worship Recorded Song of the Year, for “Living Hope”.

Other awards presented included:
Worship Song of the Year: “Who You Say I Am” (writers) Ben Fielding, Reuben Morgan, (publisher) Hillsong Music Publishing.
Contemporary Christian Artist of the Year: TobyMac
Gospel Artist of the Year: Kirk Franklin
Pop / Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year: “God Only Knows” – for KING & COUNTRY.
Gospel Worship Recorded Song of the Year: “This Is A Move (Live)” – Tasha Cobbs Leonard.
Rock / Contemporary Album of the Year: Native Tongue – Switchfoot.
Worship Album of the Year: PEOPLE – Hillsong UNITED.
Rap / Hip Hop Album of the Year: Let the Trap Say Amen – Lecrae & Zaytoven.
Pop / Contemporary Album of the Year: Look Up Child — Lauren Daigle.

Sign up to receive updates at – put Light Magazine BC updates in the Subject line

Kevin Pollard
Author: Kevin Pollard